Kia ora



Residency Visa options

New Zealand’s immigration policy supports the settlement of international students who have the skills and talent that New Zealand needs. Normally qualifications at Level 5 and above qualify for points under Immigration New Zealand’s Skilled Migrant Category.

Skilled Migrant Category
If you have skills, qualifications or experience that New Zealand needs you may be able to apply for a resident visa under the Skilled Migrant Category.

The Skilled Migrant Category is a points system based on factors such as age, work experience, your qualifications, and an offer of skilled employment. You must also be aged 55 or under, and meet English language, health, and character requirements

Education institutions are normally not permitted to assist students with immigration matters. For advice and assistance on applying for New Zealand residency under the Skilled Migrant Category, you are advised to consult a licensed immigration advisor, or to contact Immigration New Zealand directly.

Immigration New Zealand forms, leaflets and information, including a link to a list of licensed immigration advisors, can be found at

New Zealand welcomes new migrants – people who will contribute to our country by bringing valuable skills or qualifications, setting up a business, or making a financial investment.These include people applying under the following categories. 

New Zealand also offers opportunities for family reunification by allowing residents and citizens to sponsor family members for residence.

Family categories
We have a range of family categories to help partners, dependent children and parents of New Zealand citizens or residents to come to live in New Zealand.

Refugee Family Support Category
This category allows New Zealanders granted residence as refugees to sponsor a family member and that person’s partner and dependent children for New Zealand residence.  Each year there are 300 places available.

Samoan Quota
Each year we invite a number of Samoan citizens to apply for residence under our Samoan Quota Scheme.

Pacific Access Category
Each year we invite a number of people from Kiribati, Tuvalu and Tonga to apply for residence under the Pacific Access Category.